We are Experts in Personal Injury, Workers Comp, and Auto Accident Cases in Michigan.
Are you a Michigan resident and looking for the best personal injury, auto accident or workers comp lawyers in the state of Michigan that can walk you through the settlement cases? Look no further and call us today at 1-800-209-4000 for answers to your legal questions. One of our expert attorneys in Michigan will always be available to answer any questions you may have about your case.
We are Legal Genius, and you have come to the right place for legal help with your auto accident, workers compensation or other personal injury case in Michigan.
Have you been injured from an auto accident, personal injury, or a workers comp event in the state of Michigan? If so, you are probably frustrated, intimidated, in pain and likely the insurance company has turned its back on you. Most insurance companies care about one thing and one thing only – the less they pay you – the more they keep for themselves. Our expert lawyers have won millions of dollars for our clients in Michigan and across the US. LegalGenius lawyers are tough, never yielding to the demands of the insurance companies and we will never stop fighting until you are paid the money you deserve.
Although we specialize in many areas of law in Michigan, the LegalGenius lawyers have offices all across the state of Michigan and focus our practice on auto accident cases, workers comp cases and personal injury cases.
What You Need to Know About Michigan Car Accident Law
- An uninsured owner of a vehicle involved in an accident cannot file a lawsuit against an at-fault driver and cannot seek First-Party benefits.
- A driver more than 50 percent at fault for an accident cannot file a claim against anyone else involved in the accident.
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage is a policy feature that allows recovery if the at-fault driver lacks insurance or, in the case of a hit-and-run accident, if the at-fault driver cannot be identified.
- Michigan law does place a limit on monthly No-Fault wage loss payments.
- Wage loss benefits collected as the result of an auto accident are not taxable under Michigan or federal law.
- A victim whose policy includes underinsured coverage may be eligible for underinsured benefits when the actual damages exceed the limits paid by the at-fault drivers’ insurance policy.
- If the other driver had been drinking before the accident the victim may be entitled to a Dramshop Claim which involves obtaining damages from a bartender or restaurant wait staff who improperly served alcohol to the at-fault driver. Examples are if a bartender serves a minor or serves alcohol to someone who is clearly intoxicated. This is important because the owner of a bar or restaurant often will have greater financial resources than an insured motorist.
What does ‘no-fault’ mean?
After a Michigan car accident there are always three potential sources of recovery. These are referred to as a first party claim, a third party claim, and a mini tort claim. Do not hesitate from filing a lawsuit because you live in a no-fault state, such as Michigan. If you were in an automobile accident in Michigan, you first receive benefits from your own no-fault insurance company regardless of fault. This is called the First-Party benefits.
Auto Accident Benefits
The benefits include 85 percent of your gross wages for the first three years after the accident, $20 a day for replacement services, home assistant care if necessary, payment of medical bills and prescription, etc. Replacement services involves reimbursement for money you paid for services, such as household chores, that you could have done by yourself if not for the accident. If a doctor affirms you were unable to perform these household services, than the insurance carrier may have to reimburse you up to $20 per day for up to three years. A Third-Party claim includes payments ordered by the courts to be paid for death, disfigurement, pain and suffering, or wage loss. The Third-Party judgment is obtained against the driver who caused the accident. To collect non-economic damages in Michigan against an at-fault driver, the victim must have died or suffered serious disfigurement or scarring or a serious impairment of a major bodily function. A Third-Party lawsuit must be filed within three years of the accident or the victim forfeits their right to seek damages. In Michigan, the First-Party No-Fault benefits that your insurance company may be liable for include: Wage loss; attendant care; medical bills for life; replacement services; mileage reimbursement; and Third-Party basics. As indicated, a victim may obtain 85 percent of their pay for up to three years if a doctor has determined the injuries obtained in the accident prevents the victim from working. Money obtained for wage loss reimbursement is tax-free. The law, however, imposes a maximum on how much an insurance company must pay to a victim in monthly wage loss payments.
Car Accident Benefits Require Legal and Medical Documentation
Michigan law does not guarantee pre-payment of medical bills for an accident so it is vital to get legal advice. Good records must be kept and bills saved. The insurance company may be required to provide medical coverage for the life of the victim if the treatment is related to injuries incurred in the accident. LegalGenius, PLLC attorneys fully understand the detail and small print in insurance policies and our attorneys will keep you fully informed. Serious injuries may require the victim to obtain medical care for a long period of time. In such a case, attendant care will be needed. The quality of care, the right to choose a care provider, and whether attendant care benefits must be paid may become issues between you and the insurance carrier.
If you’ve been injured in an auto accident call us at 1-800-209-4000 to review your case.
When you need legal help, you can count on LegalGenius. Legal help from one of our lawyers is available 24 hours a day.
Complete our Ask the Genius™ form and one of our Personal Injury, Workers Comp or Auto Accident lawyers in Michigan will be in touch with you – usually within 5 minutes.
Wondering if you even have a case?
Wondering if you have a case? Confused about the process? If you have a question for a LegalGenius attorney in Michigan regarding any legal matter, especially an Auto Accident case, Workers Comp case or other Personal Injury matter please give our Michigan lawyers a call. Please supply us as much background on your situation as possible – the more detail you can provide to our Michigan attorneys the more productive our call will be.
Although there is always the possibility of delay, a member of our legal team will contact you within five minutes.
You can always contact us; 24/7 1-800-209-4000.